from

Fiji

Skip intro
to

Bonn

united for climate

The countdown has begun!

The UN Climate Change Conference 2017 will take place under Presidency of the Government of Fiji in Germany. Diplomats, politicians and representatives of the public from all over the world will meet from 6 to 17 November in Bonn.

00 Days
00 Hours
00 Minutes

Latest

more news

Germany’s role in COP23

Together for climate protection

The impacts of climate change can no longer be denied. Natural disasters are on the increase all over the world. The number of extreme weather events in Germany, for instance, has more than tripled since the 1970s. We have to act now to achieve the goal set out in the Paris Agreement - to keep global warming to below two degrees Celsius - and to limit the impacts of climate change. We will only succeed by working together.

One conference – two zones

Germany has taken on the role of technical host. In line with an innovative concept of "one conference – two zones", the conference will be divided into two areas. In the "Bonn zone" in the Rheinaue park, concrete solutions for implementing the Paris Agreement and limiting global warming will be presented in parallel to the negotiations. Countries, NGOs, IGOs, UN organisations and representatives of the scientific sector and industry will showcase their climate action projects.

Our goal

Our goal is to make the most of the momentum of the Paris Agreement in cooperation with our partners from all over the world. COP23 should specify the details for implementing the agreement and make progress towards the goal of limiting global warming to well below two degrees Celsius.

"Climate protection will be the technological and social revolution of this century."
Federal Minister Barbara Hendricks
Preparations well underway

Important steps on the road to this goal will be negotiated in Bonn in November at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP23). We are delighted to support the Fiji presidency and the UN Climate Change Secretariat in the planning and organisation of the conference, thus making an important contribution to international climate action.

Diverse activities

Germany and its stakeholders will present climate activities in the German pavilion. Additionally, Germany and the city of Bonn will use the opportunity to highlight Bonn’s profile as a UN location. The actual negotiations will take place in the "Bula Zone", run by Fiji and the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

In the vicinity of the conference venue there will be numerous events such as exhibitions, concerts and other cultural happenings that are also open to the general public.

von

Fidschi

Intro überspringen
bis

Bonn

vereint für den Klimaschutz

Der Countdown zählt!

Die 23. Weltklimakonferenz 2017 findet in Deutschland unter der Präsidentschaft der Fidschi-Inseln statt. Diplomaten, Politiker und Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft aus aller Welt werden sich vom 6. bis 17. November 2017 in Bonn treffen.

00 Tage
00 Stunden
00 Minuten

Aktuelle Meldungen

mehr Meldungen

Deutschlands Rolle bei der COP 23

Vereint für den Klimaschutz

Die Folgen des Klimawandels sind nicht mehr zu leugnen. So mehren sich überall auf der Welt Naturkatastrophen. Und die Zahl extremer Wetterereignisse hat sich auch in Deutschland seit den 1970er Jahren mehr als verdreifacht. Wir müssen jetzt handeln, um das im Pariser Klimaabkommen festgelegte Ziel, die Erderwärmung auf unter zwei Grad Celsius zu begrenzen, zu erreichen und die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels zu begrenzen. Das können wir nur gemeinsam erreichen. 

Eine Konferenz – zwei Zonen

Deutschland nimmt dabei die Rolle des technischen Gastgebers ein. Nach dem innovativen Konzept "Eine Konferenz – zwei Zonen" wird die Konferenz in zwei Bereiche geteilt. In der "Bonn-Zone" in der Rheinaue werden parallel zu den Verhandlungen konkrete Lösungsansätze zur Umsetzung des Pariser Abkommens und zur Begrenzung der Erderwärmung präsentiert. Länder, NGOs, IGOs, UN-Organisationen, Vertreter aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft stellen dort ihre Projekte zum Thema Klimaschutz vor. 

Unser Ziel

In der Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern aus aller Welt wollen wir die Dynamik des Pariser Abkommens nutzen. Auf der 23. Weltklimakonferenz sollen die Umsetzung des Abkommens konkretisiert und weiter vorangetrieben werden, um die globale Erderwärmung auf deutlich unter zwei Grad zu begrenzen.

"Klimaschutz wird die technologische und gesellschaftliche Revolution dieses Jahrhunderts werden."
Bundesministerin Barbara Hendricks
Vorbereitungen auf gutem Weg

Wichtige Schritte auf dem Weg dahin werden im November in Bonn auf der UN-Klimakonferenz COP 23 verhandelt. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir die Präsidentschaft Fidschi und das UN-Weltklimasekretariat bei der Planung und Durchführung der Konferenz unterstützen und so einen wichtigen Beitrag zum internationalen Klimaschutz leisten können. 

Vielfältige Aktivitäten

Deutschland präsentiert sich und seine Akteure mit Klimaschutzaktivitäten im deutschen Pavillon. Zudem werden Deutschland und Bonn die Chance nutzen, um den deutschen UN-Standort gut zu präsentieren. In der "Bula-Zone" – die von Fidschi und dem Sekretariat der Klimarahmenkonvention (UNFCCC) betreut wird – finden die eigentlichen Verhandlungen statt. Rund um das Konferenzgelände wird es zahlreiche Angebote wie Ausstellungen, Konzerte oder andere kulturelle Ereignisse geben, die auch von den Bonner Bürgerinnen und Bürgern besucht werden können.

Blitzlichter